Everyone agrees that tinted windows look cool. However, it is important to know the laws regarding tinted windows before purchasing or driving a car with tinted windows. Check the laws in your state before making any decisions about tinted windows.
In Vermont, your windows need to meet the following regulations:
- Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the AS-1 line
- Front Side Windows: No Tint is Allowed
- Back Side Windows: Any Tint level allowed
- Rear Windshield: Any Tint level allowed
Whether you live in Vermont and are buying a new car or are on a road trip and driving through, make sure your car windows are tinted correctly.
Window Tinting in Vermont – What Does The Law Say?
The Window Tint Laws in Vermont are more or less straight-forward. Windows can either be tinted or not, you don’t have to worry about how dark the tinted windows are.
Can Windows Be Tinted in Vermont?
In Vermont, the Driver’s side window and the front Passenger window cannot be tinted. The back side windows (left and right) can be tinted. The Front Windshield can only be tinted above the AS-1 line. The back rear windshield can be tinted.
In some ways the laws in Vermont are stricter and in other ways they are less strict. For instance, in some states the front side windows can be partially tinted but not in Vermont. On the other hand, in Vermont the back windows can have any darkness level, in some states they limit the amount of tinting on all windows.
What Windows Can Be Tinted in Vermont?
Only the back windows can be tinted in Vermont. The front side windows cannot have any tint and the windshield can only be tinted near the top. The tint can be reflective but cannot have a metallic or mirror-like look.
Front Windshield: The windshield can only be tinted above the AS-1 line. The AS-1 line is the line about where your visor ends. It is usually about 5 inches from the top part of the windshield. The tint on the windshield cannot be reflective. It is important to check where the AS-1 line is on your car, as it does vary, and you do not want to get a ticket for tint that is too low.
Back Windshield: The back windshield can be tinted in Vermont. There are no Visible Light Transmission (VLT) rules for this window. The back windshield can be as dark or as light of a tint as you want. While reflection is allowed, the reflection cannot look metallic or mirror-like.
Driver Window + Front Passenger: The Driver’s side window and the front passenger window cannot be tinted at all. It is illegal to tint these windows no matter what type of car you are driving. Fines can be from $50 to over $1000 for illegal tinting. This law is intended to protect officers approaching driver or passenger windows.
Back Windows: Side windows in the back have no legal limit to their tint. You can get these windows tinted as dark as you want. The tint can be reflective but cannot be mirror-like or metallic.
Restricted Colors: There are no restrictions in Vermont about allowed tint colors. You may choose to make your tint any color you want.
Vermont Window Tint Law Medical Exemption
In Vermont, there is a Medical Exemption for Window Tinting. The law requires you to apply for the exemption. On the application, you need to have your doctor fill out the second page and explain why you need the exemption.
The Medical Exemption must be renewed every 4 years if you have a temporary condition. If you have a life-long condition you can get a permanent Medical Exemption. The Exemption is only for your car and cannot be transferred. In other words, if you get a new car you need to apply again.
When you apply, they will decide what VLT (Visible Light Transmission) is required for your condition. Only the Driver’s side window can be tinted unless you are only ever going to be a passenger. Then only the passenger side can be tinted. A copy of your approval must be kept at home and another in your car at all times.
Frequently Asked Questions About Vermont Car Window Tinting Laws
Here are some important and frequently asked questions to further your understanding of the car window tinting laws in Vermont.
What Does VLT Mean According to Vermont State Law?: VLT stands for Visible Light Transmission. What this means is how much light must be allowed through a tinted window. In Vermont, there are no restrictions that use VLT. You either can tint a window (back and rear windows) or cannot (Front and windshield).
How Much Does Car Window Tinting Cost in Vermont?: Car window tinting cost will vary based on how much tint you want, how many windows you want to tint, and who is doing the work. In general, a 4 door sedan costs about $400 to tint the legal windows. The average price is about $100 per window.
How Dark Can Your Windows Be in Vermont?: The windshield can only be tinted above the AS-1 line. The front side windows (driver and passenger) cannot be tinted at all. The back side and rear windshield can be tinted as dark as you want. It is recommended that you go with about a 20% VLT for tinted windows.
Is Reflective or Colored Tint Legal in Vermont?: Reflective tint is allowed in Vermont. The rules of reflective tint are 1) can have a slight tint and 2) tint cannot be metallic or mirror-like. Colored tint is legal in Vermont. You can tint your windows any color you want.
Can You Get a Ticket for Tinted Windows in Vermont?: You can get a ticket in Vermont if you have a front windshield that is tinted below the manufacturer’s AS-1 line. You can also get a ticket if you have a front driver or passenger window that is tinted and do not have a medical exemption.
Window tinting laws in Vermont are some of the easiest to understand. If you are planning to visit and your car does not have legal tinting, it would be best to rent a car for your trip.